Skip to content

Sarah Nathan: Bargain from a Position of Power

March 22, 2014

In Chapter 16, Harrington talks about how it’s important to bargain from a position of power. He equates it to going grocery shopping when you are hungry. When you’re hungry, you often end up buying lots of junk food and unnecessary items because you’re shopping (aka bargaining) with yourself from a point of weakness rather than strength. Considering my last grocery cart, which included a bag of BBQ potato chips and Oreos (because who DOESN’T love Oreos?!) in addition to the kale and lentils I set out to buy, I am definitely guilty of this behavior.

This isn’t a new idea, but it’s one that has kept coming up for me throughout this semester; the balance between getting your business of the ground vs. turning down jobs that really aren’t that beneficial. When you are starting out, there is this undeniable temptation to take every job that comes your way. How can you bargain from a position of power if you don’t have any clout to start with? Harrington touches upon this, saying that having a part-time job and other sources of income can go a long way when you are starting out. But I know that I am going to be faced with this situation and I’m still not sure how I will answer when the time comes.

I know this concept has come up time and time again over the past 10 weeks, but it’s one that I’m still having trouble trusting. I think it’s just going to take a leap of faith on my part to say no when a no is warranted and trust in my skills, value and superpowers that I will be able to make it in this industry. 

That, and I better brush off my barista skills just in case =/ 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

