Skip to content

Sarah Nathan: The allure of pirating software

April 1, 2014

Welp- It happened again this week. I wrote this post last night and yet again it did not post. If anybody has some thoughts on why this may be happening I’d appreciate it. 

I found it interesting that Harrington dedicated a portion of Chapter 17 to rail against software piracy. It was a bit of a soapbox moment, but a thought provoking one. 

The point Harrington makes is that software piracy is no different than somebody infringing on a photographer’s copyright. He’s right, but the first thought that popped into my head was, “Yes, but software can be so prohibitively expensive that I can’t feel all that bad about it.” But then I stopped to really think about it- that knee-jerk reaction I had is very similar to the response many photographers get when they want a fair wage for their work. The financial requirements for entering the photography business can be bitter pills to swallow, but if we aren’t respecting the copyrights of others, it’s going to be super hard to defend your right to retain your own. 

I’m going to try very hard to keep this in mine next time I have to plunk down several hundred dollars on software. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

